These are the Moments

Tonight was Karaoke Night. My grandfather is no longer able to do many of the things he used to enjoy like golf, tennis, playing cards, and dancing. BUT, he can sing and he loves to sing! Thank goodness for long term memory, as he remembers most of the words to the songs he enjoys. He is blind and unable to read the prompters in Karaoke. He sings with my mother (age 75).

Last Tuesday he asked me if I would come tonight and hear him sing. I told him I would. Even though he does not remember asking me, I kept my word and I am so glad I did.

It was lovely to see my grandfather (almost 99) sing four songs, my grandmother (almost 104) dance several dances, and watch them interact with each other and friends they have known for years.

At some point someone sang the song, “I Could Not Ask for More.” These lyrics made the thankful to be here for this season…

“These are the moments I thank God that I’m alive
These are the moments I’ll remember all my life.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

